Australian arts jobs, news, industry commentary, career advice, reviews & data


What's On

2018 Max Afford Playwrights’ Award Opens For Entries

Tim Roseman, Artistic Director of Playwriting Australia, and Perpetual as Trustee, today announced that the Max Afford Playwright’s Award for 2018 was now open for entries. 

This award is one of the most highly prized for young playwrights aged between 18 and 40 in Australia. Tim Roseman said: “The Max Afford Award is a rare and special opportunity for a young playwright, affording them time to write and the chance to delve deep into their winning play, to further its ambition and explode its potential. 

I’m thoroughly looking forward to the entries for the 2018 award. In 2015 the judges and I were bowled over by the level of talent and the number of exquisite voices coming through from young playwrights.  I expect this year’s entries to be equally as stunning. “

In 2016 Chris Summers won the Max Afford Playwright’s Award for his play Pedagogy which went on to be programmed as part of The National Play Festival later that year.

The Max Afford Playwrights’ Award of $30,000 is comprised of $15,000 prize money for the winning playwrights plus an intensive creative development with a team of professional artists as part of Playwriting Australia’s National Script Workshop in 2018, valued at $15,000.  

“Max Afford was a prolific novelist, playwright and broadcaster who was one of Australia’s first international success stories in the performing and literary arts. The opportunity for young playwrights to follow in his steps is wonderful, and I’m grateful for the foresight of Thelma May Afford, who established this award in Max’s honour.”

Entries open Wednesday 20th of September 2017 and will close at midnight on Sunday 19th of November 2017.

The winner will be announced in January 2018.


Wednesday 20 September, 2017
Sunday 19 November, 2017

National, -

View website (opens in new window)
Awards & Prizes